i SHOUDN’t – A Poem

I change diapers. I clean vomit. I wipe on my knees-
I am a white man who is privileged. I am the devil.

I didn’t get paid in December for my work-
Again in January I wait-
The best I have is nothing

Look as the cat hunches
My eyes drop
My child runs from me

The Ice In My Glass is Full
Has it come to grow?
Again we wait

It’s us who’s created this madness
It’s us they’d like gone

I love my family deeply
I listen, as his pitter patter widens

don’t let us…

-M. Taggart copyright 2017

 

Leave a Reply

