Ernest Hemingway – A Quote

‘The best people posses a feeling for beauty, the courage to take risks, the discipline to tell the truth, the capacity for sacrifice. Ironically, their virtues makes them vulnerable; they are often wounded, sometimes destroyed.’ Ernest Hemingway

 

Don’t let beautiful be destroyed by what was. Christmas is my least favorite holiday. Often bringing my spirits low where I then find myself headed for a silent room. Alone and not wanting company. Now though, much has changed and I look forward to Christmas. I even look forward to Christmas Eve. What makes it beautiful are the people you have directly near you. Not the presents, not the TV commercials with noise asking to purchase, purchase, purchase. Not the ornaments. Not even a decorated tree. What makes it beautiful, to me, is knowing the people with you truly care for you without pause. Without changing of mind. I’ll do my best to not let beauty be destroyed by what was. I hope you’re able to do the same.

Matt

 

5 thoughts on “Ernest Hemingway – A Quote

  1. Virtues that makes us vulnerable, so beautiful said. But why to be vulnerable?

    Christmas, first of all, means family, right? There are no people near to us than family. I love my dad and my mom ❤ Thanks for sharing.
    I wish you a beautiful and happy Christmas Party along with all your loved ones ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you spoke the truth about yourself each time you spoke could you then imagine being vulnerable? I think his statement stems from something within that structure of thought. I wish I could have known Hemingway. And yes, Christmas is about family. I agree. We, the Taggart’s, say Merry Christmas to you and yours!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I tell the true, nothing but the true, so help me God. And I know I am so vulnerable 😦 … I wish I could have known Hemingway, too. I love his books. It sounds so pure and beautiful: We, the Taggart’s, say Merry Christmas to you and yours! I, Monica, wish you to be always healthy, cheerful, loved and happy ❤
        Merry Christmas!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

