Dear Humanity – Odd Walking Thoughts

Dear Humanity-

It starts one note at a time. Soon, if you pick the truest path, you have a masterpiece. I think the broken humanity we live in has lost its ability to choose truly. We become angry and destroy our own family members with words and sometimes with violence. Then we walk the streets and continue creating more imperfect notes and it spreads through our town and further. In my opinion it’s impossible to not see the divide that’s among us. And yet we blame it on anything other than ourselves without feeling the necessary humility of responsibility through reflection. I don’t feel our leadership can fix it. I don’t feel our government knows even where to begin. I don’t think our churches can fix it. They are at war with one another. They compete for your money and call it belief and are unable to accept differing beliefs without furthering the divide. I do have hope though. To find one true note for myself. I think it’s best to start with me. If I can create my best version then it’s possible to look beyond. To my wife, my son. In my opinion it starts at home. It isn’t about what our leaders might do for us. It never was. They are not in your home nor or in your mind unless you let them be. You are there alone. It’s up to you to choose truly. And maybe then we’ll be on to something.

18 thoughts on “Dear Humanity – Odd Walking Thoughts

  1. “If I can create my best version than it’s possible to look beyond.” …. This seems inevitable when we take responsibility for our own personal thoughts and emotions. Action then follows as an extension of the sometimes delicate balance we are able to maintain, is what I hear you saying. And how beautiful to be working on this within the intimacy of family, of raising children. I don’t think there’s any end to it though….this personal balancing, what with all the challenges life presents even when we reach certain plateaus of understanding. Our leaders however, have the same personal responsibility and the extension of their own personal “maintenance” ought to reflect this rather than follow agendas of select benefit. No, they aren’t here to solve our problems but they sure aren’t elected to make them worse. Nice post…. Having children has taught me things I doubt I would have ever had the opportunity to learn otherwise!

    Like

  2. “And yet we blame it on anything other than ourselves without feeling the necessary humility of responsibility through reflection.”

    This, just one of many gems woven throughout this piece. Beautiful. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I reflect all the time. The state of the world still bothers me greatly. I can’t stop it. But, I am divided. I am trying to work on this. I needed to read this tonight. Thank you for writing it. -CC

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Unfortunately, most won’t look beyond themselves and think to start within… instead, like you said, they’ll blame others or perhaps call into self help shows like Dr. Laura and become amazed at the common sense advice that she gives. – Why can’t people figure out for themselves what’s going wrong? Government and churches can’t fix social problems and often times makes them worse. I do have to say, mtaggart, that you are the highest note in your wife’s and son’s life. I’m looking forward to our life together and finding out how high we can go! At least we can create harmony within our own home and attempt to share that with others. Your writing, I’m positive, already does that.

    Like

  5. Pingback: 2nd and 3rd Liebster Award! | Music Smells Like Noise

Leave a Reply

