Reading for Recess

While in college I took as many creative lit courses as possible. For me it was recess.  I was a business major and the books were my escape from numbers and strategy. I found it odd when an English major complained of their work load. Reading wasn’t work.

I found the classes to be easy. I became bored and would ignore the professors assignments. Instead, I approached each new English professor with an option for me to create my own assignment. Though they didn’t know, it was the same assignment I gave myself for each English class.

I’d ask the professor if I could dissect the literature on my own terms.  The terms were for me to decipher when an author was overstepping their characters personality and inserting their own.

I became very aware of hidden agendas and found the best authors were the ones that kept these agendas away from each character and let the character be themselves. Unless the book was clearly identified as an agenda laced piece of work. If that were the case, I’d accept it for what it was, and admire the honesty of the author.

I have one author in mind that seemed, in my opinion, amazingly sloppy with this technique. Yet, her work is constantly on the best selling list and endorsed by many.

I feel if an author writes the story well and accurately the agenda will take care of itself.

I’m done randomly rambling for now.

Cheers.

2 thoughts on “Reading for Recess

Leave a Reply

